You can either delete your account to permanently remove your profile and boards from Pinterest, or you can deactivate your account to take a pause from Pinterest and reactivate it later. 

Do you want to stop using your account for business? You can convert a business account to a personal account.

Do you want to change the username or email address on your account? You can edit your username or change your email in your settings.

Do you want to stop getting emails from Pinterest? You can unsubscribe from Pinterest emails.

Permanently delete your account

When you delete your Pinterest account, your personal data will be permanently deleted. Your profile and boards will be removed from Pinterest and it won’t be possible to recover them.

When you delete your account, your public profile is immediately deactivated and your account is permanently deleted in 14 days. If you change your mind before the 14 days are up, log in with your email and password and we’ll send you a link to reactivate your account.

If you have outstanding bills on a business account, you’ll need to clear them before deleting your account. You can clear your outstanding balance by removing your payment information. When you remove your payment information, any outstanding balance that has not been settled will be charged to the card that was on file when the spend occurred.

When you delete your account, any linked business account associated with that account will also be deleted. If you wish to keep your linked business account, you must unlink your business account before deleting your personal account.

  • Log into your Pinterest account
    See the steps you can take if you can’t log into your Pinterest account.
  • Click  the directional chevron down icon  at the top-right corner to open your menu
  • Click Settings
  • Click Account management from the left-side navigation
  • Under Account changes, click Delete account
  • Click Continue
  • Select the reason why you’re leaving and then click Send email to receive an email to delete your account
  • Check the email address associated with your Pinterest account to confirm that you want to close your account
  • Open the Pinterest app on your device and log into your Pinterest account
    See the steps you can take if you can’t log into your Pinterest account.
  • Tap your profile picture at the bottom-right corner
  • Tap  the ellipsis icon  at the top-right corner
  • Select Settings
  • Tap Account management
  • Scroll to the bottom and tap Delete account
  • Tap Continue 
  • Select the reason why you’re leaving and then tap Send email to receive an email to delete your account
  • Check the email address associated with your Pinterest account to confirm that you want to close your account
  • Open the Pinterest app on your device and log into your Pinterest account
    See the steps you can take if you can’t log into your Pinterest account.
  • Tap your profile picture at the bottom-right corner
  • Tap  the ellipsis icon  at the top-right corner 
  • Select Settings
  • Tap Account management
  • Scroll to the bottom and tap Delete account
  • Tap Continue
  • Select the reason why you’re leaving and then click Send email to receive an email to delete your account
  • Check the email address associated with your Pinterest account to confirm that you want to close your account
  • Temporarily deactivate your account

    If you deactivate your account, you can take a pause from Pinterest and reactivate your account later. Your profile and boards will not be visible until you reactivate your account.

    Note that after deactivating your account, your email address and username still remain tied to that account. You will not be able to create a new Pinterest account with that same email address or username. If you wish to free up an email address or a username that is tied to an existing Pinterest account, you have two options:

  • Change your email or edit your username in your settings.
  • Delete the account via your settings. 14 days after you close your account, your account will be permanently deleted and the username and email address will no longer be tied to your account.
  • Log into your Pinterest account
    See the steps you can take if you can’t log into your Pinterest account.
  • Click  the directional chevron down icon  at the top-right corner to open your menu 
  • Click Settings
  • Click Account management from the left-side navigation
  • Under Account changes, click Deactivate account
  • Click Continue
  • Select the reason why you're leaving and then click Deactivate account
  • Open the Pinterest app on your device and log into your Pinterest account
    See the steps you can take if you can’t log into your Pinterest account.
  • Tap your profile picture at the bottom-right corner
  • Tap  the ellipsis icon  at the top-right corner
  • Select Settings
  • Tap Account management
  • Under Account changes, tap Deactivate account
  • Tap Continue
  • Select the reason why you’re leaving and then tap Deactivate account 
  • Open the Pinterest app on your device and log into your Pinterest account
    See the steps you can take if you can’t log into your Pinterest account.
  • Tap your profile picture at the bottom-right corner
  • Tap  the ellipsis icon  at the top-right corner 
  • Select Settings
  • Tap Account management
  • Scroll to the bottom and tap Deactivate account
  • Tap Continue
  • Select the reason why you’re leaving and then tap Deactivate account
  • To make sure your account is no longer active, go to your profile URL by visiting www.pinterest.com/ followed by your username. Do not log in to check if your account is still active as this will reactivate your account.

    Delete a deceased person's account

    We're so sorry for your loss. We can delete a deceased family member's account if you get in touch with us. Once we delete the account, it will not be accessible anymore.

    Because we want to respect the privacy of people on Pinterest, we cannot give out any personal or login information.
     

    Ready to deactivate or close your account? Go to your settings
    End of Other articles Links
    Still need help? Contact us